Kevyn Aucoin Celestial Highlighting Powder Review

I know people say that trends and fads come and go, but I do feel that some discoveries especially in the makeup world change the name of the game forever and can stick around pretty permanently. One such fad is highlighting. Originally a component of contouring and altering the shape of your face, highlighting is the technique used to bring a certain feature more to your forefront and accentuate it. While the average makeup enthusiast may think that Kim Kardashian West was the person that popularized contouring, it was actually around for quite a time and very popular in the drag community, as well as occasionally used by celeb makeup artists. But, the person who really gave this a name was Kevyn Aucoin, a makeup artist with many celebrity clients during the 90s and who is also famous for writing the book Making Faces. This makeup artist is largely responsible for making contouring popular and giving his clients perfect sculpted makeup.

Therefore, when my time came to look for a good highlighter I thought who better to turn to than the master himself – Kevyn Aucoin. I wasn’t looking for anything overly glittery and something that would look more realistic. The Celestial Highlighting Powder retails for $44 and is now available in 3 different shades, I will be reviewing it in the shade ‘Candlelight’.

The review

As much as I wanted to see the good in this product, I must say that after months of ka finger swatchattempts and use, I’m a little disappointed with this product. Actually, a lot disappointed. First off, the product is incredibly dry and chalky. I loathe the feeling of highlighter being more so piled on to the face rather than seamlessly blending in and giving that glowy look. The way this one looks after dusting it on to the apples of your cheeks, nose, and cupids bow is incredibly subtle, like barely there at all. I want to say the best way to describe this is pearly, but even cultured pearls have a way better incandescent shine than this powder. And I’m well aware that I said I wanted something not so glittery but I really do feel I wanted something to look dewy and radiant, not dry and powdery.

In addition, this product is super pricy and you only get 3 grams (0.11 oz.) worth of highlighter!! Looking on the Sephora site now, any other highlighter will give you at least 3 times that amount and often for the same or lower price. Considering that, it feels like you were definitely fooled into buying something more for the name than for the actual product.

This is in no way meant to disrespect Kevyn Aucoin, he passed away in 2002 and the brand was founded pretty recently. It is said to be based on his principles and vision but I just don’t feel like it does the man justice. I do want to see what his other products are like so maybe I will try them out later.

Over all take: Hard pass for anyone looking for more of a glow. I’m not saying you want glitter on your face but I feel there are lots of better products for a similar price that give you more of product and more payoff too. I think the only time you would like this product is if you want something super subtle, and I mean you look like you’re not wearing anything at all.

ka on face

2 thoughts on “Kevyn Aucoin Celestial Highlighting Powder Review

Leave a Reply

